Home | Go Sailing! | Get On Our List! | Support Us

The Class of 2011


Hall of Fame

Betsy Alison
Betsy Alison

Hobie AlterHobie Alter

Charlie BarrCharlie Barr

Paul Cayard
Paul Cayard

Dennis Conner
Nathanael Herreshoff Nathanael Herreshoff Ted Hood
Ted Hood

Gary Jobson Gary Jobson

Buddy Melges Buddy Melges

Bus Mosbacher Bus
Lowell North Lowell North

Joshua Slocum Joshua Slocum

Olin Stephens Olin Stephens

Ted Turner Ted Turner

Harold Vanderbilt Harold

Click here to view all 2011 Inductees on one page.

2011 National Sailing Hall of Famers at Induction 2011, San Diego Yacht Club

The first class of inductees were recognized on October 23, 2011 in ceremonies held at the San Diego Yacht Club in California. Here are some links to see photos of the occasion:


PHOTOS - Visit NSHOF's Flickr Photostream in a new window

PHOTOS - Visit NSHOF Facebook Photos Page in a new window

PHOTOS - Visit Scuttlebutt's Facebook Photos Page in a new window

PHOTOS - Visit San Diego Yacht Club's Flickr Photostream in a new window

VIDEO - Salute to the Class of 2011
Plus "A Tribute to Walter Cronkite" & Interviews

Highlights from the 2011 National Sailing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, held at the San Diego Yacht Club, followed by a tribute to Walter Cronkite - for whom this year's Induction was dedicated. Also includes interviews with some of the 2011 Hall of Fame Inductees

VIDEO - KUSI-TV News Story:


ARTICLE - Read coverage of the Induction in a Sailing Magazine article



Click here to read the bylaws and selection criteria used for the Class of 2011.

Contact or Visit
About Us
Hall of Fame
STEM Education
On-Site Programs
Sailors & Stories
Warriors Sailing
Mid-Year Update
Classic Boat Race

Join Us - Click here to donate

© 2016 National Sailing Hall of Fame, a 501(c)(3) Non-Profit Organization

facebook-btn            twitter-btn             Instagram-sailinghall            US SAILING LOGO